simplyenjoy


Watermelon ego
June 6, 2011, 7:36 pm
Filed under: Mind, Spirit

I just ate a bowl of fresh, cold, sliced watermelon. The meat of it was so plush and juicy that I wonder what could be more beautiful or more perfect on a warm day while listening to Marley radio and writing the first entry of my new blog.  I feel that this should be a momentous and amazing first blog. But it will be what it is. This site has been months in the making. First a thought, then many thoughts, then some steps and voilà! 

One other thing I’m chewing on today is the idea of leaving my ego behind me. It’s this nasty three-letter word that tells me what I am and who I am… what I should be or what I could be. It’s what causes me to judge myself and to judge others. It whispers to me, “Why aren’t you like that?” and “Are you sure you’re doing your best?” and “Are you trying hard enough?” It causes me to cling to certain ideas. It gives a “me against the world” attitude. I’d rather keep it simple. I’d rather love myself and I’d rather love others. Ego complicates things. It causes struggle and friction.

Simplistic lesson in all of this? You have to lose your self to really find your self. I’ll probably be referencing Wayne Dyer a lot in the future, but he refers to ego as an acronym for “Edging God Out.” When we invite more of these divisive ideas and little ego-driven beliefs in, we leave less space for God. We close up a bit. Oh yeah, I could definitely use more God in my life. Could you?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I love this! I have a nasty FOUR letter word called pride, but, basically, I think it debilitates me in the same manner ego does. Actually, you wrote something once that really stuck with me and helped me let go of some of my pride. You said, “pride isn’t poisonous so don’t be afraid to swallow it.” I thought that was great advice; although it is not poisonous, it certainly does taste bitter. I think it is good to be reminded, though, that pride clouds my view, disallowing me to make clear judgments. I’m glad you bring attention to this idea; it forces me to step back and refocus my vision.

Comment by Arielle Dentith




Leave a Reply

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

setback2comeback

Facing adversity along the journey to self discovery

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

Servants' Journal

A blog about Christian life and Biblical teaching.

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

simplyenjoy

a thank you in every step...

The Why About This

Mysteries of Life & Everyday Wisdom

Deeply Rooted in Him

Shelly talking about Him with friends!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Heavenly Raindrops

God-inspired words and images to bring blessings like rain

