simplyenjoy


Choose thank you!
June 22, 2011, 12:23 am
Filed under: Behavior

I went to bed early last night – ten. Lately, that has been early because it’s a challenge to get to bed before midnight. I miss the nights of 8 p.m. lights out in Costa Rica. I even miss the 5:30 a.m. rooster wake-up calls. Because when I woke up to those mornings, I felt refreshed. I felt ready. I taught for four hours a day, lesson-planned and organized for two to three hours and then went home to help with chores or spend time with neighbors and family. I felt so healthy and so rested.

Fast forward two years later and I’m beginning to feel more deeply the stress of the average American lifestyle. The differences are so great and I desire to maintain that rest and peace I felt down south while working and living in a different environment. I’ve felt these things before and that stress is what drove me down south. It pushed me to a slower pace. And it was just what I needed at the time. To retain that feeling is a challenge with the increased demands on my time and the worry, emotional chaos and self-indulgent tendencies of the good old U.S. of A. Temptation is around every corner. Fried chicken here. Instantly addictive reality TV here.

I’ve always been an idealist. I realize perfection is impossible, but I don’t think that’s an excuse not to work and practice. Today I woke up still tired, even though I did get eight hours of sleep… I felt grumpy and ungrateful that the morning was already here… but I said a Thank You anyway. Thank you that my eyes opened to this day. Thank you that there is work to be done and water to drink. It is in thank you that I can make room for the need-to-do. How often do we say thank you to ourselves, others and God? How often do we deny ourselves the thanks we deserve for working hard, making dinner, reaching out to people, staying calm even though you want to explode, taking care of kids, skipping your nap to tend to others…. fill in the _____________. We’ve all got our to-do list.  When we’re making those choices that up-lift ourselves and up-lift others, we can say an inward thank you to ourselves (and to God for the sweet grace of allowing us the opportunity.) Mother yourself a bit – even if you’re a man! Come on now, we all deserve some thanks now and then and not everyone is going to say it to you! Sometimes you have to choose thank you for your self. If you’re looking for it, there really is a lot to be thankful for.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Very true, living is work. Remember that the Spirit is willing but the flesh is weak. Blessed are those that henceforth die and their works do follow them. Under the sun requires work. I love you my child you always are a busy beaver. You can walk and talk and drive. You are not starving in some third world country but, even you were there is still the presence of the Father and His Son and the Holy Spirit. We are truly blessed.

Comment by John Lasota




Leave a Reply

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

setback2comeback

Facing adversity along the journey to self discovery

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

Servants' Journal

A blog about Christian life and Biblical teaching.

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

simplyenjoy

a thank you in every step...

The Why About This

Mysteries of Life & Everyday Wisdom

Deeply Rooted in Him

Shelly talking about Him with friends!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Heavenly Raindrops

God-inspired words and images to bring blessings like rain

