simplyenjoy


Name someone who has a great voice.
August 22, 2011, 12:37 am
Filed under: Uncategorized, Writing

This is different. My blog site set me up with a prompt, urging me to write. I got to choose between three and picked “name someone who has a great voice.” I was not so intrigued by that question as I was by the fact that my blog site is prompting me to write. I think this is a new feature on WordPress as I have not noticed it before… or perhaps it’s a feature that peeks out from under a digital rock when the blogger (guilty as charged) has been denying her blogly duties. ha! Yes, blogly is a new adverb.

The old me would have felt really bad about not writing on here more often. I’m aware I haven’t been posting for days. I think there’s a time to write and a time to be silent, to recollect thoughts and to just be experiencing life! Silent moments are good. They’re golden. They are absolutely brilliant. And it’s so much more satisfying to write from joy than from guilt. Recently, two beautiful friends and I discussed this over a delicious brunch. Sometimes we are able to share our voice without resistance. It flows like honey and seems just as sweet. Other times our voice needs to rest or speak solely to ourselves to restore lost truth. Sometimes we have to work out some kinks or gain clarity. Our inner world is not always to be shared. It’s something sacred and personal. Editing your writing does not mean you are being inauthentic, it means you’re being mindful of the message you do want to send.

It means, I’d rather not leave you with a sour taste in your mouth. You deserve something sweeter.

Great voices there are many. I’m really a fan of C.S. Lewis right now and have been drawing on his quotes for inspiration. I’m also loving my Joss Stone…

Who is speaking to you right now?!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Beautifully said! I really enjoy those moments of silence, even though it’s never truly silent because my thoughts are intensely loud.
Who’s talking to me right now…YOU, when you said “Other times our voice needs to rest or speak solely to ourselves to restore lost truth”. It’s so easy to get lost in all the “other” voices we hear, that we need to take the time to hear ourselves, MY OWN VOICE. Who am I, what do I like, what don’t I like, how do I feel about what’s going on in my life, and in the lives of those I love? I will take this week to do just that…find me again! As a mom, it’s so easy for me to get lost, but here’s a toast to finding me…So CHEERS!

Comment by Dai

God bless, you, Dai and all moms!! I can only imagine. Great moms give so much and definitely need to make a greater effort to nurture themselves, too. It not only benefits them, but their children and families, too. I’m not at that stage yet… but I think it’s the biggest job on the planet! It is a JOB and we don’t all treat it as such.

Comment by simplyenjoy




Leave a Reply

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

setback2comeback

Facing adversity along the journey to self discovery

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

Servants' Journal

A blog about Christian life and Biblical teaching.

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

simplyenjoy

a thank you in every step...

The Why About This

Mysteries of Life & Everyday Wisdom

Deeply Rooted in Him

Shelly talking about Him with friends!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Heavenly Raindrops

God-inspired words and images to bring blessings like rain

