simplyenjoy


Lunch all week for $30 (And breakfast, too.)
November 29, 2011, 3:09 am
Filed under: Behavior, Budget, Food, Organization

Success! It’s before 10 p.m. and I just made lunch for the entire week in thirty minutes for about thirty dollars. (That was my grocery bill amount at Giant tonight, which includes accompanying snacks and a seperate breakfast every day.)

This may sound like an easy task for a single girl. In fact, maybe it is. If you’re planning for a family this Web site will generate your local store sales and your family’s tastes into a shopping list and recipe ideas. If you’re not a culinary type the key is to educate yourself. A little research and planning can save you money and promote your health.

Menu:

Tomato and Mozzarella Salad with cucumbers, red onions, olive oil and the most amazing garlic vinegar in the world. It’s made at Rolling Hills Farm, an organic farm in Saylorsburg, PA. This dish took seven minutes to toss together. It’s fresh, healthy and contains organic and locally made ingredients. Hello, garlic vinegar! I’ll need my gum tomorrow. Sorry kids and co-workers. It’s just too amazing. You can contact the Rolling Hills Farm at fpollock@enter.net You can also order some here. It’s great for meats, veggies, stir-fries, salads, basically everything. When I love something, I really love it! Garlic vinegar, I’m dedicated.

Tortilla Española: You peel and slice several small golden yukon potatoes and cook them with sliced sweet onions. Stir the cooked potatoes and onions into a bowlful of whisked eggs and then pour the mixture into an oiled pan on medium temperature. Cover. When the sides are looking done, slide a plate over the pan and flip the tortilla onto the plate. Slide the tortilla raw side down back into the pan to cook its underside. I make this all the time (I know eggs have a bad reputation) but it’s cheap and fast. I can eat it cold or hot. I can eat it any time of the day!

Tonight’s cooking spree, you are cheap, easy and so delicious. Yes, I’ll be eating these things every day this week, which may seem boring or repetitive to many, but it’s a small sacrifice for saving time and money. You can always switch things up by adding a different snack or drink to the meal. I will not have to make lunch or breakfast at all this week! Oh, it’s the little things in life.

Any versatile, cheap and healthy menu offerings out there?

“An unhurried sense of time is in itself a form of wealth.” – Bonnie Friedman

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Please come back to Maine I’m so hungry! I like the cheap meals that last you all week. Good post!!

Comment by simplyenjoy

It looks like I wrote that comment because you were signed into my account, Nick! I must have left it open when I was up there? Can’t wait for you to share in the meals again 🙂

Comment by simplyenjoy

I can’t think of any cheap meals besides Spaghettio’s at the moment, but I would like to say that when you plan out a menu for the week and then stick to buying only what’s on the menu, you will most definitely spend less money. I do this most times I go to the grocery store for my family of four. Challenging to do when they would probably be just fine with pizza all week, but it definitely helps. It’s also said that Americans waste a lot of food every month – at least 400 dollars worth on average – so by being conscious of that and preventing such waste you will save as well. A good website is http://www.DiningOnADime.com.
I don’t think I’ve shared that before, but if I did, I apologize. They just have a lot of good ideas for saving money on food and just general household stuff.

Oh, and I think it’s amazing that you usually spend less than 50 on food per week, that’s awesome. 🙂

Comment by Strawberry




Leave a Reply

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

setback2comeback

Facing adversity along the journey to self discovery

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

Servants' Journal

A blog about Christian life and Biblical teaching.

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

simplyenjoy

a thank you in every step...

The Why About This

Mysteries of Life & Everyday Wisdom

Deeply Rooted in Him

Shelly talking about Him with friends!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Heavenly Raindrops

God-inspired words and images to bring blessings like rain

