simplyenjoy


Having an “O” moment. As in Winfrey.
December 15, 2011, 3:51 pm
Filed under: Behavior, Mind, Spirit, Writing

I am remembering to be still as the time moves forward into 2012 and mindful if my brain wanders to December 23 when Nick will FINALLY be home, God willing, or when I get to spend time with family over the holidays. And when I picture New Year’s spent with old friends I feel the urge to forget everything else and simply daydream. My second journey to Costa Rica in January is also getting closer, reminding me to live today. Because, really, who knows what will happen tomorrow? This time of year is full of energy, change and the setting of good intentions for many. One of my favorite highlights in Oprah’s magazine is her departing last page of “What I know for sure.” This post pays tribute to that concept.

Maybe the inspiration I feel is Christmas light being planted inside as the days slowly inch toward the 25 of December. My decorations are still in a cardboard box on top of my desk, but my hands have been busy preparing gifts, cards and scheduling events in my calendar. And after all the joy, after all the loss and backtracking and second-guessing, after all the blessings, revelations and learning of 2011 I feel so grateful to have lived it all. This is what I know for sure

1. Those who gossip to you will most definitely gossip about you. Staying clear of idle and destructive chatter will keep more space in your head for better things.

2. Quality most definitely trumps quantity. This includes food, handbags, literature and the people you share your heart with.

3. If someone walks out of your life or dismisses your journey, you must be smart enough to let them go.

4. You don’t need to explain or justify yourself to others. Those who love you will seek to understand you or know you and they won’t put you on trial to provide an explanation or to live up to a certain expectation. I grow in God’s time.

5. Complaining IS really as annoying as it sounds.

6. If you shop around the perimeter of the grocery store and cook from whole foods you will lose belly fat. Hoping for some tone by summer…

7. Seeking the good in yourself requires looking for the good in others first. Our loved ones are like mirrors reflecting our best and worst qualities.

8. My cat Elijah is definitely my jewel. He’s turning ten this year and he is better than any dog I could ever know.

9. Green tea is amazing for your health. Several cups a day will change your life.

10. Speaking of life changing, Jesus is still transforming lives and this is one thing I definitely know for sure. He rocks.

What do you know for sure after this year? Sending blessings out for 2012…

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think the Lord has increased your understanding. Because we are all going to be judged by a merciful Lord, being that he suffered the same way we all do. I love you daughter.
pops

Comment by Pops

🙂 Hey padre… it’s all about cultivation. Thanks for always believing so that I may also believe. Love you. x

Comment by simplyenjoy

Great post Steph! I enjoyed reading your insight moving into 2012.

Comment by Paul Martin

Thanks for checking it out! Cheers!

Comment by simplyenjoy




Leave a Reply

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

setback2comeback

Facing adversity along the journey to self discovery

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

Servants' Journal

A blog about Christian life and Biblical teaching.

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

simplyenjoy

a thank you in every step...

The Why About This

Mysteries of Life & Everyday Wisdom

Deeply Rooted in Him

Shelly talking about Him with friends!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Heavenly Raindrops

God-inspired words and images to bring blessings like rain

