simplyenjoy


Let go tips to hold on to.
March 29, 2012, 2:13 am
Filed under: Behavior, Mind, Writing

Sometimes letting go in the literal sense can bring you closer to your health goals. Unclasp the donut, for example. Or stop grabbing at your wallet when you see the golden arches.

Other times letting go means something more subtle, more interior. It’s an unlearning process almost. If you want to move toward healthier or happier ways of being, you must also simultaneously unlearn those unhealthy and unhappy ways of being.

Stumbled upon this list of tips (author unknown.)

Let go.

To let go does not mean to stop caring. It means I can’t do it for someone else.

To let go is not to cut myself off. It’s the realization I can’t control another.

To let go is to allow someone to learn from natural consequences.

To let go is to recognize when the outcome is not in my hands.

To let go is not to care for, but to care about.

To let go is not to fix, but to be supportive.

To let go is not to judge, but to allow another to be a human being.

To let go is not to expect miracles, but to take each day as it comes, and cherish myself in it.

To let go is not to criticize or regulate anybody, but to try to become what I dream I can be.

To let go is not to regret the past, but to grow and live for the future.

To let go is to fear less and love more.

 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Tepha,
You have made things so easy for me! Since our last conversation, ironically about “letting go”, my search has been for ways to justify that letting go does still mean I care but that I am recognizing my own limits. This is a perfect list of tips to help me on my way. Thanks!!

Comment by Lea

Hey, Lea! That’s great news. It’s not so great news that I’m only reading your April 1 comment now – on April 14. That’s my clue that I’m letting go of my writing, which I must hold onto! So sorry for the late response and thanks for reading 🙂 Glad it helped. I love our chats!

Comment by simplyenjoy




Leave a Reply

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

setback2comeback

Facing adversity along the journey to self discovery

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

Servants' Journal

A blog about Christian life and Biblical teaching.

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

simplyenjoy

a thank you in every step...

The Why About This

Mysteries of Life & Everyday Wisdom

Deeply Rooted in Him

Shelly talking about Him with friends!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Heavenly Raindrops

God-inspired words and images to bring blessings like rain

