simplyenjoy


Apples don’t taste like oranges.
May 21, 2012, 2:22 pm
Filed under: Behavior, Body, Mind, Spirit

What do you expect to taste when you bite into an apple?

Do you walk on your elbows or on your feet?

Are you seeing with your mouth and talking with your ears?

These are silly questions I suppose.

It’s a common trap. Making comparisons. Sizing other people up, seeing where we stand in contrast. How can I inch up to their perceived level? We think “I’m not quite as smart, or funny, or pretty, or generous or trendy or extroverted or whatever, whatever, whatever.” It’s human nature to compare and contrast, but the maladaptive result can be anxiety, despair, depression and the like. Social media can be a serious trigger for those prone to comparing and contrasting and can almost accelerate these emotions, since the input from our peers is coming in at a constant stream on twitter and Facebook. Take this example:

“I get into trouble when I take my eyes off my own path and look over at someone else’s. I immediately get sucked into comparing and despairing, and lose all sense of groundedness, of being anchored to my life. Untethered, I float away from my ability to feel good about myself and my accomplishments even if I don’t have an agent, a book deal, an appearance (or several) on The Today Show under my belt, a husband to have conversations with about how deep our love is on Facebook for hundreds of our friends to read, or THE MOST AMAZING LIFE EVER! And on Facebook and Twitter, thousands of other people’s paths are constantly in my face all at once. It’s way too much information, most of which does not make me feel good about myself.”  “Social Media Makes me Feel Bad About Myself” by Jennifer Garam from http://www.psychologytoday.com

From a behavioral standpoint it’s good to recognize the feeling rising up inside of you and when it is happening. Once you nail that down you can begin to avoid or perhaps eliminate the triggers causing the behavior.

I’m reminded of the absurdity of comparisons (although they do serve some healthy social function before becoming hurtful) when I study this portion. It tells us not be ignorant of “spiritual gifts” of ourselves and others. Scripture uses the metaphor of the body having different members to serve different functions. We can’t hate our hands because they do not do what our feet can do. They are still essential for the full function of the body.

Avoiding the triggers that make you feel small or inadequate in comparison to others is sure to create space for you to continue the growth and nurturance of your own God given talents and gifts, which are incomparable.

Happy Monday!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Comparison, bad bad bad. Must stop! lol Thanks for the post, I did need a reminder. So crazy how we do the things we know we shouldn’t. It’s like it happens, and then we think about it afterwards. Ugh, the human condition is so, just, HUMAN in all of it’s short comings. When the afterwards part comes of the replaying my actions and then the guilt that follows, one thought always comes to mind: I am so glad that His grace is sufficient enough for me.

Comment by Dai

He gives us grace so we can continue working… rest easy in that. Thanks for always reading, Dai!

Comment by simplyenjoy




Leave a Reply

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

setback2comeback

Facing adversity along the journey to self discovery

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

Servants' Journal

A blog about Christian life and Biblical teaching.

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

simplyenjoy

a thank you in every step...

The Why About This

Mysteries of Life & Everyday Wisdom

Deeply Rooted in Him

Shelly talking about Him with friends!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Heavenly Raindrops

God-inspired words and images to bring blessings like rain

