simplyenjoy


Love and Things that make you go hmmm…
February 13, 2013, 8:39 pm
Filed under: Art, Minimalism, Motivation, Poetry, Spirit, Uncategorized, Writing | Tags: , , , ,

With room to wonder and space to fill

With thoughts like yellow daffodils…

wishing Spring would just show up

like relatives on holiday

or rain when only sun should stay

Surprising like a free dessert

a waived late fee

A reduced-price shirt

Today I tried to shop for my niece and the store was closed. Wanting not to go home yet, I thought to try the antique store across the way. Then my stomach growled and lunch at home seemed the more aggressive choice.

“I’ll try that place another day,” I thought.

I drove to melty pork bbq, paid some bills, wrote some mail.

In line at the post office, an artist peers at my doodled envelope. He’s shipping a canvas to London, he says. Have you been to my antique store yet?

Why, I almost stopped there today… but didn’t. What are the odds?

Some days there are just small things to “hmmm” about like random conversations that introduce new thoughts. Like antique mirrors and assorted goods – 3,000 square feet of them. And talking about painting sunrises and rescuing blue herrings while waiting in line with a stranger. Then getting a business card with a glint of inspiration.

“Try painting with your left hand and see what happens,” he says.

But also today, the very best news… though I am far away from family…

Two very special people together and loved by so many… saying “I do.”

Sending all my love to Pennsylvania today… to the Mayor.

To D and C with love:

“Friends can help each other. A true friend is someone who lets you have total freedom to be yourself – and especially to feel. Or, not feel. Whatever you happen to be feeling at the moment is fine with them. That’s what real love amounts to – letting a person be what he really is.” – Jim Morrison

 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I LOVE that poem about friends!!! I will copy that in my journal and keep that in mind. I always want to be a friend like that, and I want to keep friends like that! Damn few!

Comment by Daidree

Thanks…how true! To keep the friends then be a friend! A random find from one of my favorite Web sites, brainyquote.com Freedom is always at the center of true love and friendship – never control. It’s a good way to measure the health of any relationship. Not sure Jim Morrison was an expert at relationships or life, in general, but I sure dig this little snippet of thought!

Comment by simplyenjoy

A wonderful blog Stephanie and fun to visit. Thanks

Comment by rickbraveheart

Thanks for visiting. I enjoy yours as well. Cheers!

Comment by simplyenjoy




Leave a Reply

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

setback2comeback

Facing adversity along the journey to self discovery

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

Servants' Journal

A blog about Christian life and Biblical teaching.

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

simplyenjoy

a thank you in every step...

The Why About This

Mysteries of Life & Everyday Wisdom

Deeply Rooted in Him

Shelly talking about Him with friends!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Heavenly Raindrops

God-inspired words and images to bring blessings like rain

