simplyenjoy


Forgiveness and gratitude.

“Who is more grateful?” Jesus asked. (And I loosely, loosely quote.) “He who has been forgiven a $10 debt or he who has been forgiven  a $10,000 debt?”

If you are loved much, then love much.

If you think you are not loved much… I hope love will come. Love comes in many forms. Forgiveness. Charity. Generosity  Graciousness. Words of affirmation. Helping. Donating. Encouragement. Supporting. Listening. Sometimes silence. Sometimes even rebuke. But if you would notice, many of these methods are sacrificial in nature… requiring a bit of our “self” to disappear so more love can come through.

My belief is love is a choice we make every morning when we open our eyes. “Choose this day whom you will serve.”

Have you ever tried loving someone who seemed unlovable? Have you ever been unlovable?

If we are honest with ourselves we could probably recount many ways in which we were less than kind, less than honest, less than conscious of how our actions or lack of actions have hurt or offended another.

This excerpt below was taken from 2 Corinthians in the Bible. This is the apostle Paul addressing the church in Corinth and Christians throughout Achaia, the Roman province comprising all the territory of Greece south of Macedonia.

So I made up my mind that I would not make another painful visit to you. For if I grieve you, who is left to make me glad but you whom I have grieved? I wrote as I did, so that when I came I would not be distressed by those who should have made me rejoice. I had confidence in all of you, that you would all share my joy. For I wrote you out of great distress and anguish of heart and with many tears, not to grieve you but to let you know the depth of my love for you.

Forgiveness for the offender…

If anyone has caused grief, he has not so much grieved me as he has grieved all of you to some extent—not to put it too severely. The punishment inflicted on him by the majority is sufficient.Now instead, you ought to forgive and comfort him, so that he will not be overwhelmed by excessive sorrow. I urge you, therefore, to reaffirm your love for him. Another reason I wrote you was to see if you would stand the test and be obedient in everything. 10 Anyone you forgive, I also forgive. And what I have forgiven—if there was anything to forgive—I have forgiven in the sight of Christ for your sake…

Romans 13: 9-10 The commandments, “You shall not commit adultery,” “You shall not murder,” “You shall not steal,” “You shall not covet,” and whatever other command there may be, are summed up in this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” Love does no harm to a neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law. 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

setback2comeback

Facing adversity along the journey to self discovery

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

Servants' Journal

A blog about Christian life and Biblical teaching.

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

simplyenjoy

a thank you in every step...

The Why About This

Mysteries of Life & Everyday Wisdom

Deeply Rooted in Him

Shelly talking about Him with friends!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Heavenly Raindrops

God-inspired words and images to bring blessings like rain

