simplyenjoy


If you knew.

The sky is gray and the air is flat. I couldn’t sleep past 6:30 a.m. and it’s Saturday. How ironic that during the week this hour seems foreign to me and here I am now, opening eyes without a second thought when it’s possible for me to sleep later if I could.

Mostly, this morning, I’m plagued with a sense of displeasure in the world. I’m bothered by the discontentment of folks – by my own discontentment at times. I see it on the daily in small little bouts and do my best not to let it bother me, do my best to foster and keep my own joy, but unfortunately a lot got under my skin yesterday. It happens. Shaking it loose!

Gratitude is at the heart of happiness and new research has been emerging with evidence of this.

From the linked article:

“In one particular study, a group of participants was asked to write down five things that generated gratefulness once a week for ten weeks. In the other control groups, participants were asked to list five hassles or major events that occurred that past week. The results illustrated that those who expressed gratitude tended to feel more satisfied and optimistic with their lives. Their health received a boost as well; fewer physical symptoms (such as headaches, acne, coughing or nausea) were reported, and they spent more time exercising. It’s therefore been noted that gratitude investigations depict a correlation between mental and physical health.”

So this morning I’m writing out what I am thankful for and holding on to the faith that the clouds will break through again and although I cannot change the attitudes and opinions of other people, I can proactively practice gratitude wherever I go. This is what I know.

I’m thankful for my God… for the way He always pursues me, always loves me, always comforts me, always reminds me that… this. too. shall. pass. I’m thankful for my daily bread and for knowing I can’t live on only bread alone.

I’m thankful for my husband. I know God has a sense of humor, because here I am working in behavioral health and human services, and it took a wildlife biologist to domesticate me. He lets me be in a world where everyone is shouting: do, do, do and have, have, have! Animals aren’t as complicated as people tend to be.

I’m grateful for a washer and dryer, for having clean clothing and running water.

I’m so grateful for cranberry juice with no high-fructose corn syrup in the morning. Combined with cold water it’s one of the most amazing thirst quenchers.

I’m grateful for borrowed books and reassuring looks, for gracious words and encouraging hugs.

I’m grateful for strength in weakness… for God’s grace.

And though, often, it’s difficult to see the love and the joy through the pain, still I will search. Still I will seek it. Because I am so grateful for breath…

James 1:2-8 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.  If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.  But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. Such a person is double-minded and unstable in all they do.

sad

I wrote this poem a few days ago… not really sure about it. I was only pondering how people assume things about others without doing the research. It’s about how our flawed human minds label and judge before we really know… how we can be closed instead of open. Unyielding instead of flexible. Well, you can be the judge of the thing.

If you knew the thing

Would you shout so loudly?

Your tone harsh and unfriendly…

If you knew the thing

Would your eyes dart around you, suspect and searching?

If you knew the thing

Would you dare to determine resolutely and prematurely

That this is this or that is that?

If you knew the thing

This easy rest…

This gentle bend…

This burden lifted…

If you knew the thing

Do you think your words would still shatter

…falling like rocks and darting the skin?

If you knew the thing

Would you continue in your way and

Say what you say?

If you knew the thing

Would perhaps you reconsider

All that you considered

to be concrete?

If you knew the thing…

Would you search for more?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

“If you knew the thing” prompted this quotation in my mind from Oswald Chambers, ” Grace… is knowing there is at least one thing you don’t know about in another persons life.”

Comment by Kay Paff

I absolutely love that, Kay! Thank you. That quote pretty much sums up perfectly what I was aiming at in that poem… wow.

Comment by simplyenjoy

You are on a roll. I have been using your blogs of late as part of my reconstructive personality surgery. Letting God mold me and allowing myself to receive His truth and shed light on the dark and the ugly in me. It has not been easy, but it has given me a thirst for more holiness, for more of God’s presence and for more change in my character. I am reminded daily of my short comings, but God’s loving presence gently guides me into submissive servanthood towards my fellow man, “without judgement” and with “mindful thinking”. I am reminded of Moses, as he came off of Mt. Sinai, glowing from his extraordinary encounter with the great I AM. You would think that being in God’s presence so intimately would have given him power to overcome his struggle with his temper. Instead, he threw the Ten Commandments down in anger…THE TEN COMMANDMENTS WRITTEN BY THE FINGERS OF GOD!! Like WHAAAAAT was he thinking?! I think that Moses’ story was a reminder of God’s unconditional love for us. Despite our human condition, God uses us and despite MY human condition, He has, and He will use me and you. Thank you for your blogs. If we all would humble ourselves to receive these words of truth, God can do beautiful things in us.

Comment by Daidree

That is awesome, Dai… thanks so much for your encouragement! You rock! Keep the faith, mamacita. God is good 😉

Comment by simplyenjoy

And, Dai, p.s. “reconstructive personality surgery” sounds like growth 🙂 That’s the journey, right? I think you’ve got a good one. I’m getting a used juicer in March and thought of you (and the deliciously sweet, earthy mix you helped serve me)… perhaps I’ll have to start posting some recipes and more stuff on physical health… xo

Comment by simplyenjoy




Leave a Reply

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

setback2comeback

Facing adversity along the journey to self discovery

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

Servants' Journal

A blog about Christian life and Biblical teaching.

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

simplyenjoy

a thank you in every step...

The Why About This

Mysteries of Life & Everyday Wisdom

Deeply Rooted in Him

Shelly talking about Him with friends!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Heavenly Raindrops

God-inspired words and images to bring blessings like rain

