simplyenjoy


Service is an attitude.

laundry

 

 

(My late-night doodles)

 

“Most of us wait until we’re in trouble, and then we pray like the dickens. Wonder what would happen if, some morning, we’d wake up and say, ‘Anything I can do for You today, Lord?'” – Burton Hills

Being newly married means double the laundry and while my husband does his share of domestic duties, I find that the household work never seems to end. With it being just the two of us this gets me to thinking about how that work would be multiplied with children or other roommates. I also think back to days at home as a child, coming home from kindergarten class, starting up a game with my little brother or building living room forts out of the sofa cushions while my mom sorted through piles of lights and darks in the kitchen. My grandmother was often there to help my mom with the busyness of raising four children and the obscene amount of laundry that goes with it.

I always remember her words, “Stephie, look forward to a lot of laundry if you ever get married!” and then she would laugh. Now when I’m throwing a load into the washer, I often think of her and smile. I think of the small hills of linen on the ceramic floor, of the extra bottles of Woolite she donated to us, of the donation of her time, energy and help to my mom and the family while we were busy building forts. Of course, we were also ordered to carry the laundry upstairs, put it away and sometimes, even, fold. With six people in one house, you can imagine the amount of clothing to take care of.

A chore that never ends, this laundry business.

And as I sort, switch loads and fold, I sometimes get annoyed. “Didn’t I just wash this yesterday?” or “Seriously, where is that matching sock? I don’t understand.”Β But then I stop and think about the universality of laundry. We all need it. We all do it. How do we do it? How do we do anything we need to do?

Do we do our duties with resentment? Out of obligation? Out of sheer joyless duty?

Or do we do our service in love? For the joy of it? Because it’s necessary? Because it’s valuable?

Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth. 1 John 3:18

 

 

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I personally dreaded laundry days and nana. It was actually a childhood fear of mine. But yes it certainly was a service of love from her. Laundry. Loads of fun. Neverending loads of fun :-). “Do all things as if for the Lord and not for men…”

Comment by strawberry

πŸ™‚ Not all memories are golden, but sometimes looking at them differently – “re-framing” our recollections from the past, heals our present and helps us to build a better future. Laundry service for four children and two adults can be very frustrating, surely! Laundry days were not my favorite days either for much of the same reasons… but they were surely necessary! I look back to it differently.

Comment by simplyenjoy

I look back to it differently than I experienced it in the moment (though cushion forts are a pleasant distraction πŸ™‚ Love you! xo

Comment by simplyenjoy

Our machine is really getting worked over with four adults and a new Granddaughter coming, it will only increase. I sure am glad I am not the washer woman. πŸ™‚

Comment by John

Don’t you ever throw in your own load of laundry? I am glad my husband helps me with household work. He just finished our wash last night. How old is that washer anyway? Maybe you can start a collection jar and save up (money spent per week on beer and soda..) Laundry is never-ending, much like other work. Love you guys!

Comment by simplyenjoy




Leave a Reply

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

setback2comeback

Facing adversity along the journey to self discovery

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

Servants' Journal

A blog about Christian life and Biblical teaching.

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

simplyenjoy

a thank you in every step...

The Why About This

Mysteries of Life & Everyday Wisdom

Deeply Rooted in Him

Shelly talking about Him with friends!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Heavenly Raindrops

God-inspired words and images to bring blessings like rain

