simplyenjoy


In the quiet.

“Now arise, Lord God, and come to your resting place, you and the ark of your might. May your priests, Lord God, be clothed with salvation, may your faithful people rejoice in your goodness.” 2 Chronicles 6: 41

WordPress has some very inspiring writers. It’s so much fun to receive new alerts and posts and see what everyone is sharing next. I’m grateful for this space to share musings, poetry and mental healthcare information. For me, this place is about community and connecting, but it’s also about helping myself understand and express the  journey of life. I write a whole lot better than I speak. I can’t convey the same things in person as I can through a keyboard.

For me, words are little chunks of communication that sit on the page and beg for eyes. I’m here. Read me. I’m calm and quiet. These words don’t move. These words don’t stutter. These words don’t mumble or turn away from you.

I realize lately my posts have taken on a more spiritual theme and I want to offer more frequent clinical and scientific posts on mental healthcare, behavioral change/modification and minimalist organization, as this is the theme of this blog; to simply enjoy life and work at creating better balance, space and simplicity. Stay tuned for more of that.

Today is my birthday and I slept on the sofa last night. (My hubby’s away for work.) I woke up very peaceful because I had an awful dream and when I realized it wasn’t real I was so thankful. Then my thoughts go to my parents. I can’t help but think of my parents on my birthday because they’re the reason why I’m here.

I’m sure all can relate to family member’s having a designated seat in the home – dad’s recliner, grandma’s rocking chair, etc. Well, today I’m thinking about my lovely mother who perches on “her sofa” when she wants to sit. She gazes out the front window, watching the bird feeders and drinking her coffee. This is her “living room” and it’s her domain. There is no TV. Never any music. There is only silence and reflection. There is only peace and quiet.

My mom and I are different in that I am still learning the art of sitting still in the quiet. I am so high-energy it is often difficult for me to settle all my ways until they are gathered and at ease in the Lord. I know my mother’s sitting and the graceful way she rests is a reflection of her age and experiences. I am grateful that my mom has always helped me learn how to “rest” and her continuous prayers have been in protection for her children to find escape from the very real worldly stresses, commotion and noise.

Today I am in the living room. I am sitting still. I rest.

Stitched Panorama

 

(Courtesy of google images.)

“Give me the benefit of your convictions if you have any,

but keep your doubts to yourself, for I have enough of my own.”

– Goethe –

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great post! Happy Birthday!! 😀

Comment by Steve Rebus

Hey, thanks, Steve!

Comment by simplyenjoy

What a lovely homage to your mother on the occasion of your birthday. Happy Birthday Stephanie-do something special for yourself.

Comment by Kay

Oh, Kay, I will! Thank you 🙂 Unfortunately today I work, but will take a day off soon to fully celebrate!

Comment by simplyenjoy

Very nice honey, I printed it out for Mom.
Happy birthday Stephanie.
P.S. Don’t get any older. 😉

Comment by John

Thanks, Dad! “we get not older with time, but newer everyday.” Emily Dickinson 🙂

Comment by simplyenjoy

Happy Birthday-

Comment by lauriesnotes

Thanks, Laurie!

Comment by simplyenjoy




Leave a Reply

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

setback2comeback

Facing adversity along the journey to self discovery

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

Servants' Journal

A blog about Christian life and Biblical teaching.

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

simplyenjoy

a thank you in every step...

The Why About This

Mysteries of Life & Everyday Wisdom

Deeply Rooted in Him

Shelly talking about Him with friends!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Heavenly Raindrops

God-inspired words and images to bring blessings like rain

