simplyenjoy


Simple changes.

Good morning!

As we creep into Fall, I’m very reflective of how I spent the summer. I’m not going to write about how time flies or the theory of relativity or anything, but seriously, moving to a new state and starting two new jobs at the beginning of the steamy season surely does have a way of making the days seem more rapid and complex. Hence, less blog entries. But, oh, how I missed WordPress. And though I wasn’t writing, I was thinking about writing, and talking to plenty of new peeps about this spectacular site and the blogging world.

Who do you know that has a blog?

How do they generate traffic?

What makes a blog entry worthy of being Freshly Pressed?

These are all things I’ve been pondering on my little hiatus.

And I simply decided I’m just going to continue blogging for the love of it.

Simple as that.

I love doing it.

And if what I share resonates with someone else, if it helps someone else or even cracks a smile… then that’s GRAVY, baby.

Now that the newness of my recent life changes are settling and the crisper air outside is reminding of the slow change upon us, I plan to steal more cozy moments with a cup of tea and my familiar WordPress.

Today, though… it’s THIS: A delicious protein and fruit smoothie…

No exact measurements, well, unless you want to count my half-hazard methods.

A fist-full of crushed ice.

A few strawberries

A pour of blueberries

A couple scoops of Greek yogurt

A spoonful or two of Hemp Protein Powder

Matcha Green Tea Powder (tear open a tea bag and pour it in.)

A squirt of flaxseed oil

About 1/4 to 1/2 cup orange juice to help it all swim and blend together in a peaceful coexistence.

image

In this busy season, I’m reminded by my dear loved ones (whom I also call to accountability) to remember to care for myself mind, body and spirit as I work to help others in my job. It is all too easy in the care-giving field to teach, instruct, help, listen and care and at the end of the day to forget yourself.

This is truth: you can not help anyone before you help yourself. You cannot give anyone a glass of water from an empty well.

Taking the time to replenish yourself is not selfish… it’s necessary… and it’s a beautiful gift to those around you, provided you’re sharing it and helping others along the way!

Joy is contagious.

We can’t help everyone, of course, but we can help some, and, at the very least, you can help yourself.

image

Amidst all the busyness, hubby and I are undergoing some external renovations as well – a new bedroom look and an orderly office and arts space for me. Here’s the sign I got yesterday for my office door. It’s not just a warning for outsiders (hubby and the cat,) but a reminder for myself.

Am I taking responsibility for my words today? For my choices? My actions? The way I handle things?

What about my mood? Do I take responsibility for that?

It’s a daily practice, this taking responsibility for your choices. Like it or not our behaviors not only affect us, they have a lasting impact on those around us.

I used to believe that I was responsible for so much more than I actually am. Guilt and shame were like a second skin.

These days, it’s much easier for me to say, “I don’t choose guilt or shame. I choose to focus on what I can change. I choose to be free in Christ and ask Him to lead me.”

He is the one we proclaim,

admonishing and teaching everyone with all wisdom,

so that we may present everyone fully mature in Christ. 

Colossians 1:28 NIV

I realize that when you give something to God, He takes it, He bears it and He does not throw it back in your face later… “Love holds no record of wrongs.” You can totally trust God with abandon. This isn’t how life in the world works, of course. If you mess up, you better own up and be held accountable for your mistake. Hopefully, you’re surrounded by merciful people who can be understanding of said mistake and that help you through it. But whatever the error, God is always willing and able to listen and take it and help you grow through it. There is life beyond mistakes through Christ.

wpid-CAM01637.jpg

This is artwork I painted on my kitchen back splash. Remember Jesus loves you… Simple as that. Life gets complicated and has a way of trying to make us forget.

Have a blessed weekend!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love your words! As one blogger to another – we are the only ones that understand the need to put down words to interest, excite, enrapture and just plain induce laughter! Keep it up

Comment by tylines

Thanks for the encouragement and for reading! Blessings ~ Stephanie

Comment by simplyenjoy

Love it.

Love you.

Comment by strawberry

Love you MUCHO!

Comment by simplyenjoy




Leave a Reply

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

setback2comeback

Facing adversity along the journey to self discovery

The Daniel Fast

Consecrate yourself unto the Lord through extended prayer and fasting.

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

Servants' Journal

A blog about Christian life and Biblical teaching.

The Provision Room

A place where two friends blog their journey of preparing their homes, pantries and gardens.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

simplyenjoy

a thank you in every step...

The Why About This

Mysteries of Life & Everyday Wisdom

Deeply Rooted in Him

Shelly talking about Him with friends!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Heavenly Raindrops

God-inspired words and images to bring blessings like rain

